April is National Safe Digging Month

An underground utility line is damaged once every nine minutes nationwide because someone decided to dig without first calling 811, according to data collected by Common Ground Alliance (CGA).

The CGA, the association dedicated to protecting underground utility lines and the safety of people who dig near them, collects information from utility owners throughout the United States to measure the scope of damages nationwide.

Digging without knowing the approximate location of underground utilities can result in damage to gas, electric, communications, water and sewer lines, which can lead to service disruptions, serious injuries and costly repairs.

#CallBeforeYouDig #SafeDiggingMonth #Call811

Spring Break Energy Savings Checklist

Traveling for spring break? Give your electric bill a break too! Check off this list before you start packing:
Unplug all electronics
This will prevent unnecessary energy usage and will protect your home against power surges and electrical fires.
Invest in a timer
Deter would-be burglars by putting timers on lights in different rooms. Set them to go on and off at various times throughout the night and no one will know you’re not actually there. This will also save you money by not leaving a light on the entire time you’re away.
Adjust your thermostat
If you’re leaving for spring break and do not have an app to program your thermostat, adjust the temperature to be set between 50-60 degrees. This will keep appliances and pipes from freezing and also save energy.
Turn your water heater down
Set your water heater to ‘vacation mode’ or turn the temperature down before you leave. The heater works to keep the water warm even if no one is using it.

Press Release: Kenergy Pole Inspections Scheduled

Contact: Leslie Neeley

Phone: 270-689-6158


Alamon, a pole inspection contractor for Kenergy, will begin inspecting poles in the spring. Each wooden pole Kenergy owns, or is attached to, will be inspected to ensure there are no hazards. Inspectors check for decay, insects, cracks, holes, age, and any damage members may have caused.

You may see trucks in your area bearing a ‘Kenergy Contractor’ magnet. Inspectors will also have an Alamon picture ID with them. Inspectors will be working during daylight hours only. Don’t be alarmed if you see the contractors parked for a few hours and/or riding from pole-to-pole on an all-terrain vehicle.

Inspection areas include Yager, Lewisport, Hawesville, Weberstown, and part of Sullivan. These inspections will be ongoing until the end of July.

If you suspect something irregular or suspicious, please give us a call at 800-844-4832.


For more information on Kenergy, please visit

Press Release: Prepaid Billing Now Available

CONTACT: Leslie Neeley

DATE: March 1, 2019

PHONE: 270-689-6158



A new payment option is now available for Kenergy members. Traditionally, members receive a monthly bill for the electricity they’ve used. Prepaid Billing works just the opposite. This new program is completely voluntary and allows Kenergy members to choose how much and how often they want to pay before they use the electricity.

With this new, innovative program, because participants will pay for electricity in advance, members do not have to pay a deposit, there are no monthly bills, and no late fees.

For more information regarding the new Prepaid Billing program, visit To sign up for the Prepaid Billing program, visit your local Kenergy office or call 800-844-4832 with questions.


For more information on Kenergy, please visit




Network Maintenance – February 20th

NISC, a Kenergy vendor, will be performing network maintenance on Wednesday, February 20th starting at 11:59 p.m. CDT. The maintenance will last approximately two hours. Members will not be able to make payments during this time. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Shop Local for Valentine’s with Co-op Connections

If you’re celebrating Valentine’s Day with the gift of flowers, save some money this year! Use your Coop Connections card or app to receive a discount at these local florists:

  • A&B Florist & Gifts – 5% off total purchase [160 Main Cross Street, Hawesville]
  • Bowtanicals Florists & Gifts – 10% off total purchase [202 S. Main, Marion] [144 E. Main, Salem]
  • Buds & Bows – 20% off total purchase [1380 Island Ford Road, Madisonville]
  • J’Petals – 10% off total purchase [131 First Street, Henderson]
  • Louise’s Flowers – 10% cash ‘n’ carry [121 N. Main Street, Marion]
  • Whitesville Florist – 5% off minimum $30 purchase [10100 Main Street, Whitesville]

2019 Washington Youth Tour Winners Announced

Kenergy is thrilled to announce the three winners for the 2019 Washington Youth Tour. Applicants submitted their academic resume and an essay on a subject they are passionate about. Judges selected the following students as their winners:

Ryan Ward – Daviess County High School (Junior)

Sophia Krampe – Henderson County High School (Junior)

Ella Farmer – Hopkins County Central High School (Junior)

The delegates will travel to Washington, D.C. for an all-expense paid trip this summer. The week-long trip will allow students to learn about leadership, the cooperative model, and also explore the nation’s capital. More than 1,500 students from across America take part in the Youth Tour experience each year. The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) has been coordinating this program since the 1950’s.

Congratulations to this year’s winners!

Resolve to Save Energy in 2019

Still need a resolution for 2019?

Resolve to save energy! You’ll reap the benefits from this resolution all year long (and you don’t have to skip out on the bread or dessert to do it!)

Here are 3 easy ways to save energy at home:

  1. Install a programmable thermostat. By doing this, you can save an estimated $180 each year!
  2. Ditch those incandescent bulbs. These bulbs release 90% of their energy as heat. Time to switch to LEDs instead.
  3. Reduce energy used for water heating. Lowering your water heater’s temperature and install low-flow showerheads in each of your bathrooms.